Drudging on

I am running out of things to write about… It’s great to be able to get my thoughts out everyday and to share my perspectives on life, but I do seem to be running out of steam… So this post won’t really have any focus but rather me writing out whatever comes to mind.
So I’ve been listening to Tim Ferris’ radio show… Yes I know, another podcast… and the episode I landed on in the last couple of days was an interview of Cal Fussman, who the fuck is that? I even googled imaged this dude and go about as many pictures of him as I would get if I were to google image myself. Moving on from that, Cal Fussman is considered to be a master interviewer, he talks about his 10 years of traveling the world, his fight against a world famous feather weight boxer, and how he managed to interview people like Muhammad Ali to Robert DeNiro.
The reason I like Tim Ferris’ podcast is that he tries to breakdown every interviewee’s goals, habits and stories and he doesn’t just limit himself to a certain genre of famous people, but anyone would is considered famous. (He has even interviewed Kaskade!) So Cal Fussman is a famous journalist, but what’s really cool about Fussman himself is that he has really developed the art of asking the right questions. So have you ever noticed every time you meet someone you make the same kind of small talk with them? And if sooner or later, you find an area of common interest than the conversation depends, a sense of trust develops and you start to form a bond with this person. But what if you only have 5 minutes to get to this point? Would you still be asking same old boring small talk questions? I would certainly hope not.
So how do we avoid this small talk? Fussman talks about himself learning to ask the right questions. Questions that would catch the other person off guard. Once he got on a train, sat beside an only Hungarian (I think?) woman and asked her about a certain food she made. Now in his case, he got on this train with no money, no end destination and his goal was to find a place to sleep at the end of the night, so by asking a question like this, he provoked the woman enough to allow her to share with him a prideful story of her masterful cooking skills, and with so much pride on the line, she ended up inviting him over to try to try wonderful dish. I realize this story was very vague in details, but if you really want to hear the rest then I suggest you check out this wonderful interview!
So with this story in mind, Fussman points to the idea that a great question is one that should intrigue the interviewee about the interviewer enough to find trust and to able to share a deep and worth while story to him. With this, you can skip all the small talk and let the person demonstrate their own interests, beliefs and values just by actively listening to the story he/she is sharing with you and then building upon such stories with that of your own experiences. This way, you can build a relationship over a short period of time and quickly learn the art of interviewing.
So I most listen to these podcasts out of enjoyment and most of the time, I do end up retaining a certain thing or two about the lifestyles of these famous people that I try to implement into my own life oneway or another.
Leave a Reply

