Success

In this materialistic world we reside in, whether we consciously do it or not, we tend to associate success with money and things. If I see someone driving down the street in a GTR I think he must be doing something right with his to be able to afford one of those right?

However, if we look a little deeper, the most successful people in the world aren’t in it for the money. They are just constantly pushing their own limits and striving to be the best at what they do, monetary success just happened to be a byproduct
I think it took me quite a while to come to this realization, and by quite I mean the last twenty years of my life.

In my childhood days, I always dreamed of becoming a doctor and the only reason was because I knew they earned a ridiculous amount of money, however when highschool was about to finish and my study habits went to shit, I sub consciously told myself I wasn’t ambitious nor smart enough to do it and I kinda chickened out.  In retrospect, I realize they might not have been such a bad idea for right now I have come across many great learning opportunities in the coop program at Waterloo.  Although I am not a big fan of the current program I am in and some of the work I am doing as a result, I am thankful for the opportunities that have been presented to me.

In my current job, all I do is pretty much send out quotes. These quotes range from a couple grand to a couple hundred thousand grand. So even though I don’t spend my days constantly pushing myself, I have learned skills like attention to detail, organization and prioritization.

For every quote we send out, the bill of material must reflect exactly what the engineer has designed or else the competition can easily push up aside by saying we did not meet the spec in a certain way. In order to do this, I’ve got to dig through pages of drawings and spec and read through every detail to make sure I am not missing anything in my quotes. The relevance of this is that this skill will pour over into the other aspects of my life such as proof reading my work, being confident about what we are saying before we say it and just being able to zoom in on the details of life in general.

Secondly, when I am quoting over a hundred jobs a month I have to learn to organize and prioritize.  For every time I get a job, I get an initial closing date, this I must evaluate the size of the jobs and organize and prioritize my time to get all my Jon’s done in an efficient manner.

So how this relate this to success? I think that through all these life lessons and learning opportunities that have been presented to me, I will eventually be able to find and cultivate a passion for which I will wake up for everyday. And through the pursuit of such, I will be able to deem myself successful regardless of my monetary gains

One thought on “Success

  1. This is such a great attitude! Just keep pushing yourself everyday and find out what you love 🙂 once that no matter what you will be happy and fulfilled and that is success!

    Like

Leave a Reply

