My 5 Year Plan

Ha! Just kidding! I don’t have a 5 five year plan… or maybe by the end of this post I will have one!
Hm… I really can’t say what my life is going to be like in 5 years. I guess that could be a good thing and a bad thing. I’ve learned lately that visualization is very important to achieving self goals, however what if you can’t visualize what success looks like to you?
So it’s 2016, currently my goals are to squat 4 plates, dead lift 4 plates and bench 3 plates by the end of the year. I can definitely visualize myself doing that and it’s going to feel fucking amazing hitting these goals. I guess things like this are what constantly push me to hit the iron every day, I mean some days, I feel shitty and I see my weight goings down, but other days, I hit tiny PRs and I feel on top of the world because no matter how small, progress is progress. Ok so I’ve this year planned out, I mean other than lifting goals do I need anything else in my life?
Yes. Yes I do. So lets move to the kitchen. By the end of this year, I want to be able to consistently eat healthy. My first goal is learn to properly meal prep my weeks. Goes from freezer bags of smoothie prep (which i just learned about today) to lunch and dinner prepped out for almost every single meal. I mean weekends are for cheat meals, obviously…  My first step towards achieving such goals is to increase my arsenal of foods I know how to make, and maybe even take on baking down the line. I mean protein cookies and cupcakes sound like a great idea for snacking.
Study habits. By the end of this year, I want to be consistently studying something every day of my life. I mean going back to school, I will have a great environment to do this because I’ll have mandatory homework, assignments and projects to complete every week. So why not do this and just a little more, such as reviewing notes and lecture problems. Eventually when I have this habit down, I will take life skill and apply it outside school, maybe I’ll take up some simple coding, who knows, as long as I am learning something worth while which adds value to my life, I think that will be a great goal to set for myself.
Spirituality. I am fairly new to this aspect of my life, so I am going to keep things simple and say by the end of this year, I will be meditating at least 30 minutes a day, every single day.
Ok so I still don’t have a 5 year plan, but I have got a one year plan for the important aspects of my life out! Baby steps right? If I can stay focused and organized around a mere one year plan, after this year, maybe I will have developed the self confidence and personal skills to make a 5 year plan. Right now, I think this post will be a great self-motivating reference post for whenever I feel stressed out and down in life, for short term pain will always lead to long term happiness. That is what I believe in.
Leave a Reply

