Two sides to a coin

     So today, my gym trainer had a meeting which conflicted with our training session. As a result, I was trained by his trainer. So you would think my workout session would be somewhat similar to my normal workout sessions right? I mean, like master, like student.
     Nope. The training session itself was actually mentally easier on me. I guess it was because with a new trainer, he didn’t really know my limits. It was still pretty tiring, I mean by my last couple of reps, I couldn’t even keep my hands closed…
The major difference between these two trainers were their approaches on strength and size developments. You would think a student of Buddhism would become a Buddhist himself right? So my normal trainer really pushed the idea of the Bulgarian Method onto me when it came to strength training, so after a couple weeks of constant research and work, I had finally wrote out a new workout plan for myself. I felt pretty accomplished as I had my new four months of training all planned out. Then I thought, why not bombard my new trainer with all the questions I had asked my normal one? Sure I would spend less time training, but the knowledge acquired through a different perspective will be well worth my time. So first question I asked him: what do you think of the Bulgarian Method?
     To my surprise, he wasn’t a big fan of it. He told me to give it a try, he wouldn’t himself, and to see what happens. You’ll probably get bored of squatting everyday a couple weeks in. So suddenly, after having so much admiration for the 5 plate squat my trainer did and his success story of reaching his goals using the Bulgarian Method, here his trainer stands infront of me telling me it’s not that great. So following this, I started digging into his point of view. Why didn’t he think it wasn’t good? And what would he do instead for strength?
     Here I wasn’t sure of the answer I was going to get, but I was excited to suddenly learn a different perspective on achieving similar results. His method: never have the same training session twice. He believed in brain shock training. Meaning always hitting your same muscles in different ways. Changing grips, sets, reps, or even exercises. This way the muscles don’t get used to the same training sessions over and over again for this is what causes one to plateau. I have always been kind of scared of this type of training. Why? Because I had to think all the time. Every session I had to come up with different training regimes, different exercises. Am I going to drop sets this week? 6×6? 3×10? It takes willpower and effort to think, and the more willpower we use on one area of our life, the less willpower we will have to make great decisions on other areas of our lives.
     So what’s the best way to train? If we broaden that question to what is the key to success in life the answer will the same. You will have to find out for yourself. So the Bulgarian Method might have worked for my trainer, but muscle confusion has definitely been the key to success for his trainer. So I guess over the next couple of weeks, I will have to spend some time thinking about what are my priorities in life and what I really want to focus on during my training sessions. Maybe squatting 7 days a week will yield great results, maybe it won’t. I mean for every person, the recipe to success is different and we won’t ever know till we try.
Leave a Reply

