Stuck on homework problems

What will I try to improve on next week?
This week I will try to improve on being more diligent with my homework. This includes seeking out the proper help I need and making sure I have the adequate resources needed to complete my assignments with confidence. I think there a happy medium to be achieved between the time it takes to learn to solve the problem at hand and the time spent on actually solving the problem. Right now, I believe that if it’s just one simple calculation, it is diminishing returns to continually scan through the internet and bang my head against the wall repeatedly in my attempts to find a solution. However, I do find that I tend to give up pretty easily when I don’t know how to solve it at first glance. Thus, I will make more of an effort to learn to problem solve this week.
What was I most proud of this week?
Hm. I am proud of the fact that I am still making an active effort to stay ahead on my school work (although it is slowly diminishing). I really like that I have been putting my during the week days to good use. Focusing on complete the homework I can while surrounded by my classmates. Doing readings by myself and then taking time at the end of the day to unwind with some Overwatch.
What was my biggest accomplishment this week?
My biggest accomplishment this week was definitely my bench day on monday. 220 for 8 reps! That is a lot, even for me. I am really happy with how my bench is coming along and the momentum it has given in me in sticking to my current workout regime. I got really frustrated with my shitty squat and deadlift numbers, but I just need to check my own ego and restart at the bottom and work my way up again. Knowing my bench is still good is a really solid foundation to not only progressive in my upper body development but also as a contributing factor to all my other lifts.
What have I done to get closer to my life goals this week?
Life goal: Acquire $1 000 000 by 30. Yup. I am set on that one. I have started looking into ETFs, mutual funds and actually stocks worth investing in. I have also started a new book “The Intelligent Investor” by Benjamin Graham, Warren Buffet’s teacher. The book is very dense and I personally think it would have helped if I had developed a previous knowledge of basic stock market terminology and chart reading skills. However, I am going to keep reading and keep learning all that I can with the current knowledge that I posses.
What was hard for me this week, and why?
Definitely has to be my motivation. As the days go by during school, my motivation drops, the stress levels increase with more homework, the looming thought of projects I haven’t started and midterms coming up. When you think about all of it, it’s very daunting. I know that once I start to chunk away at it, it will work itself out slowly and steadily, however, taking the first step is always the hardest. Boo. More self-discipline and will power will be needed.
What was my biggest waste of time this week?
My biggest waste of time this week would have to be me watching random YouTube videos instead of spending my time at school to actively get ahead of my work. There is a time to relax and being at school during the day is not one of those times. I need to plan more throughout the day. This includes both productive and relaxing times. Having planned breaks will definitely help me stay motivated as it will be something to look forward to when I am having troubles finishing my work.
What did I do this week that made me ashamed?
Got pretty much no homework done this weekend. Man that sucks. My homework is tough. It’s Sunday night, I am definitely feeling lazy. I am not super happy with how this turned out and I know I definitely could have made just a little progress on my labs and assignments. Knowing this and moving on, I plan on trying to finish all my assignments by next Thursday, leaving my weekend to be carefree!
Brain Dump
Woo I am a quarter of the way done this semester! Time wise at least. School still sucks, and knowing it isn’t great just sucks away motivation for almost everything. Everything but going to the gym apparently. I am definitely abdicated to working out. It is my escape room, my time of inner peace and tranquility. I do what I want, at my own pace, and I dictate the rules. This week I have really learned that I am someone who depends on certainty. I know like dealing with so many unknowns. It is frustrating not being in control (unless I am high as balls, then its just cool and sometimes, really scary…). On top of that, I am pretty selfish. I like to think I can do everything all at once and don’t realize I end up spreading myself too thin and then I just yield poor results from all that I have been trying to work on. I’ve also learned that to keep good habits, you have to make them easy. On the other hand, if you make them too easy, then the progress is too slow. Life is all about balance, except I am not a person of balance. I like to be all in or all out. This is definitely something I will have to work on throughout 2017. Oh, and being emotional because apparently I have no emotions…
Leave a Reply

