Week 10: Multitasking… Ha

What will I try to improve on next week?
Next week is going to be focusing on self-discipline. Getting work done is not from motivation but from self-discipline. Making it a daily habit. I know this week I had been focusing on productivity instead of trying to optimize for time and that has worked out really well for the most part. However, as the week went by I felt my motivation dropping real fucking fast, by Friday, I pretty much did nothing… Ok… I read some notes, did some review… but overall my weekend output was pretty minimal. So next week is about drugging through the drudgery. Working through both the motivational highs and motivational lows… God I suck at this working hard thing… Baby steps. Baby steps.
What was I most proud of this week?
I am most proud of the fact that I actually followed through on what I told myself to improve upon last week. I think this is a big fact moving from being aware areas I need to improve upon and actually taking action to follow through with these statements. It is a big confidence booster in my school life. I think this is going to really important moving towards finals week and my last year of school. On top of that, I think learning to work hard and knowing how to prioritize properly is a great life skill to have.
What was my biggest accomplishment this week?
My biggest accomplishment… Hmm… This week I have realized noticed myself starting to talk less! No I am not getting depressed. Well maybe I am getting depressed. But back on top topic. I told myself I wanted to improve my communication skills this year by learning to listen and ask better questions. I have always talked a lot and really enjoy pushing my own opinions and thoughts out for everyone else to hear but I have never been very good at asking deep questions and really listening to people without interjecting halfway through their sentence. I am proud of the small fact that this week when in conversation with a friend and we both started to talk, I started to stop myself earlier to let the other person continue and finish their thought. This is a solid step towards becoming a better listener!
What have I done to get closer to my life goals this week?
My life goals… Blah. I haven’t done much to specifically get towards my life goals this week. however I have been trying to develop better work habits which I think will spill over to learning to prioritize and work towards bigger life goals when I have the time for it. Yes I am happy to admit I don’t have the time to invest in my personal life such as investing or programming because in the short-term, the next two months, such goals are not high on priority list. I need to pass school and get a job. When I have accomplished these two goals, I can shift gears and refocus my attention and redefine my goals.
What was hard for me this week, and why?
Motivation. Hard work. The usual stuff that all the successful people are good at and I’m not. NOT YET. It was hard for me to actually get work done that isn’t due in the week such as end of term projects and prepping for finals. I have been reading a book called “Stumbling On Happiness” by Dan Gilbert. Yes this book is related because in the book, I have discovered that our brain tends to smooth over events in the far future where as events in the near future are more jagged, with more details. In the case of projects. It is such an early and vague stage it is hard to imagine definitive and detailed steps I can actually take in order to work on them whereas in my assignment due next week, I’ll know the exact due date, the questions asked on the assignments and actual steps I need to take to accomplish it in a timely manner.
What was my biggest waste of time this week?
I WATCHED SO MUCH LCS THIS WEEKEND. HOLY FUCK. I AM STILL WATCHING LCS. I HAVEN’T WATCHED LCS IN MONTHS AND NOW I’VE SPENT OVER 4 HOURS JUST STARRING AT MY COMPUTER SCREEN. WHY. WHY. WHY. Yea, biggest waste of time this week: professional League of Legends. I think this is mostly due to my huge drop of motivation. Another factor is all the looming projects and finals in the upcoming month and a half. There is so much work I have to do but the “work” is so vague and unclear, that I have no idea what I am actually supposed to do so everything becomes blown up in my mind and all the anxiety builds up and kills all my motivation to get any actual work done. Wow, how many times did I just say “work”. How many times did i use “prioritize”? I need to work on my vocabulary…
Ok… back to wasting more time… until next week…
Leave a Reply

