Week 13: SOMEONE HIRE ME

What will I try to improve on next week?

Next week’s main goal is focus. It’s finals season, and I still don’t have a job, so now its time to really evaluate my priorities and hone on what is important to me. I am going to focus on studying hard and actively pursue my job search. In regards to school I have to start being honest with myself when I study. This includes not just starting at solutions and pretending I understand it. I need to take the time and really do my own homework. I will work hard and yield good results on my finals… most of them.

In regards to my job search, I need to be more active in looking to resources outside WaterlooWorks. The first step I am going to take is to have a chat with my job adviser to see evaluate all my available options. In regards to using the school portal itself, I will take a hard look at my resume and try my best to tailor my highlights of qualifications for each job I apply for. I think this will definitely increase my chances of getting a job.

Overall, I need to be putting in 120% effort in everything I can do. There are always external factors that are out of my control but if I will feel happy knowing that I tried my best and I truly believe that if I work hard and keep pushing forward, things will work out eventually. You never know how close you are to gold until you break through.

What was I most proud of this week?

This week I am proud of my stress management. Maybe my brain has just become accustomed to it. However, I have been focusing more on the things I can do rather than all the looming work I should be doing. I have done a better job at taking actionable steps rather than freaking out and then doing nothing in the end… Kind of dropped off today…

What was my biggest accomplishment this week?

DEADLIFTS! My deadlifts yesterday felt fucking amazing. I did 4 sets and one the first rep of every set, the motion just felt so natural and the weight came up so smoothly. It truly was experience as I have been very hesitant in regards to deadlift training every since I hurt my lower back. However, it has been two years, people tell me my form is good and now I just need to internalize it. No more excuses, I am going to push myself harder on deadlifts and put in the work to reach four plates!

What have I done to get closer to my life goals this week?

This week, I have learned about having a better understanding of myself. Just because it works well for everyone does not mean it will work well for me. I think doing what everyone else is doing is a good foundation but then you just become like everyone else. I need to focus on my own strengths. This means doing work that compliments my personality and my own strengths while working on my weaknesses. An example of this is I am not good with moderation, most of the time. When I need to be productive I need to put all of me into for a long period of time. That is how I work best currently. I know I can learn to change it, but right now I need to focus on the fact that this is how I work best so I need to optimize it to fit my own life.

What was hard for me this week, and why?

TODAY WAS HARD. I have a final on Wednesday and I did pretty much fuck all today. I studied a bit, realized I lacked a bunch of information and unlike most people, I just called it instead of trying to come to a better understanding the material. I was naive to think I could get work done at home. The environment I am in definitely has a major factor on my mood and focus. Maybe it is just a placebo effect maybe not.

What was my biggest waste of time this week?

My biggest waste of time this week has been playing random ass iOS games. I think it is a good way to get some psychological release but I tend to get way too involved into the game and thus it becomes a waste of time. It is good to distract myself once in a while but I need to be careful in regards to my time management.

What did I do this week that made me ashamed?

Getting high and eating too much junk food… Yup, gains. Just kidding, this is not a good habit and it has slowly crept up on me. Next thing you know, I am just sitting in front my laptop mindlessly eating ice cream and watching TV without any thought. This is shameful and I need to fix it. With only two weeks left of school I am not super worried about it. An environment shock at the start of next semester will definitely be a good way to break this shameful habit of mine.

Leave a Reply

