Week 20: Here we go again

I was told yesterday that I shouldn’t read too much. I was thrown off by such a statement at first. i mean I’ve only heard good things about reading and reading more. All the successful people read a lot so what’s the worst that could happen? Her reason was because if you read too much then you aren’t forming your own thoughts anymore. I thought that was a really cool insight. I believe she’s right. Too much of a good thing can be bad for you too. I think I am pretty good at absorbing information, however, applying it is a whole different storage. That is definitely something I need to work on. Thus I start my blog again this semester, to express my own thoughts to the world!

What will I try to improve on next week?

Next week I was to dive deeper into looking at companies financial statements. This means evaluating companies from all different sectors of the market, comparing them to its competitors and then comparing to the market in general. My goal for this co-op semester is to find three solid investments. Thus I need to start digging deeper in companies financial statements as well as their past performances and future estimates. With this solid micro foundation, I can then start to develop a macro foundation of the market situation.

What was I most proud of this week?

This week I am really proud of my new state of mind. I’ve slowly started to shift into a more positive outlook on life and I have really started to notice that in myself this week. Instead of focusing on what all the things I am missing out on or suck at it, I started to look at each moment as a new opportunity to learn and grow. Even if things don’t work out well in the end, I believe that as long as I have tried my best, there will be personal growth that has come out of it. This new way of thinking is hard to do sometimes, but baby steps!

What was my biggest accomplishment this week?

My biggest accomplishment this week was actually taking the investment knowledge I learned and actually applying it. There is still a long ways to go before I can confidently gauge a company’s worth but at least I know where to start now.

What have I done to get closer to my life goals this week?

This week, I wrote down my goals and stuck them on top of my table so that I can see them and remind myself every day. I have set three goals for myself, all due before August 19th, 2017. They are three goals that each encompass one major aspect of my life, personal, professional and health. My personal goal, as stated earlier, is to find three solid investments. I plan to do this by reading more books on investing as well as spending time each day to look at the current market conditions. My professional goal is to get an outstanding review for my last work term. I will do this by making sure I am always ahead of my workload and making sure I am communicating with my professors and co-workers in an efficient manner. My health goal is to drop down to 180lbs. I plan to do this by pushing myself at the gym, getting enough sleep and keeping a steady healthy diet with limited cheat meals.

What was hard for me this week, and why?

Progressing with my co-op research was hard for me this week. It is still very early into the work term and I am still uncertain on my end goals as well as my contribution. I was supposed to do some initial readings, then meet up with the grad student I am working with to compose a road map for my professor. However, after I had finished my initial readings, the grad student informed me that he got really sick and thus was unable to meet. With this in mind, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to ask for more work or just take it easy and enjoy my personal time. With MSI on, it was really easy to slack off and get distracted…

What was my biggest waste of time this week?

MSI. SO MUCH LEAGUE OF LEGENDS. I DON’T EVEN PLAY THIS GAME ANYMORE. Yea, I love watching live events, weather it’d be esports or real sports. This is especially applicable to League of Legends because I have invested so much of my own time into the game, I understand the subtleties in the game which make these live events that much more interesting. So with five whole days of MSI, I wasted a whole a lot time watching these events…

What did I do this week that made me ashamed?

Oh god… I am fucking addicted to my phone. I think it’s the fact I work from home now, so I don’t really have any obligations both hours and work wise. Thus I find myself constantly scrolling through Facebook/reddit/games on my phone. I hate how good habits are something you have to consciously build up while bad habits like this just slowly creep up on you. I have set my phone to do not disturb mode so that messages don’t distract me as much and make me so reactive to everything around me.

Leave a Reply

