Week 26: Brain Food

I am super tired. It feels like it’s been a long week… Probably because I went out mid week. Fun stuff, although I do feel the hangovers nowadays. This week has been fairly productive. I’ve started more web design projects and editing my own photos in Lightroom. I realized I’ve been doing it with flux on… so now I have to go back and re-edit all of them…

What will I try to improve on next week?

Next week I will focus on making less excuses for myself when it comes to being productive. Happiness is based on self-discipline and that means me being less of a little bitch when it comes to hard work.

What was I most proud of this week?

I am really proud of how far I’ve come in terms of programming. I’ve developed a pretty solid foundation of HTML/CSS and have finished beginner algorithm scripting for JavaScript. I really want to keep this up and hope to really push my progress before I go back to China at the end of this summer.

What was my biggest accomplishment this week?

My biggest accomplishment this week has been using my down time at night to post processing the photos I’ve taken. Instead of sitting around and twiddling my thumbs, I am actually developing my photography skills which I think is a much better use of my time. Creating identity capital!

What have I done to get closer to my life goals this week?

This week I had a call with Carol talking about setting big life goals and trying to find some direction in life. It was a worth while talk to know that I have to keep doing stuff if I want to find out how I will contribute to this world with my life. On top of that, I shouldn’t be too worried about the fact that I don’t know what to do with my career after school yet and just stay open minded to take advantage of any upcoming opportunities.

What was hard for me this week, and why?

Staying disciplined. This whole term has been a shit show. My self-discipline really sucks. I think it is slowly increasing week to week but there is still a lot of room to grow and polish this skill off.

What was my biggest waste of time this week?

I’ve started watching a lot of fitness YouTube videos. Although they can be informative, they should still be consumed with moderation. Life is about balance and consuming a fuck ton of YouTube videos is not going to make me bigger or stronger. I think it’s super cool to see watch other people’s lives but it is just entertainment and not necessarily something I want to work towards.

What did I do this week that made me ashamed?

My concept of money has slowly started to fall off. I know that I shouldn’t be cheap when I go out with my friends but I should still be aware of my own financial situation and live within my own means. It is nice to enjoy a nice meal and beer but there is not need to spend so much money on myself for just one meal.

Leave a Reply

